/ 2015 WINNER


  • James Dillon

    James Dillon

    Composer Biography

    James Dillon is one of the UK’s most internationally celebrated and performed composers. His work spans all genres from solos to chamber music, orchestral to opera. The recipient of a number of prizes and awards including the Kranichsteiner Musikpreis and the Japan Foundation Artist Scholarship, he has also won an unprecedented four Royal Philharmonic Society awards, most recently in 2011 for his cycle Nine Rivers.

    Recordings of Dillon’s works have received a number of critics prizes including the Jahrespreis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik 2008 from Germany and a Grand Prix du Disque 2010 from France.

    His music has been published exclusively by Peters Edition since 1982.

  • Shortlisted 2015
    Category Choral
    Work Stabat Mater dolorosa

    About this work

    Stabat Mater dolorosa is a cantata for 12 voices, chamber ensemble (and electronics).

    The work sets part of the Stabat Mater dolorosa, verses that meditates on Mary’s sorrows at the foot of the cross. Attributed to the 13th Century Franciscan friar Jacopone da Todi, the poem lies at the heart of the later so called Marian cults. The principle text is expanded with a number of other ‘inserts’; text including fragments from Julia Kristeva, Rainer Maria Rilke, John Donne and Pablo Picasso.

    Stabat Mater dolorosa was commissioned by BBC Radio 3, hcmf// and Casa da Musica, Porto. It received its UK premiere at the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival on 23rd November 2014 performed by the London Sinfonietta and BBC Singers conducted by Ilan Volko.

    Click Here to listen to the work with an interview by James.