• Richard Causton

    Richard Causton

    Composer Biography

    Richard Causton studied at the University of York, the Royal College of Music and the Scuola Civica in Milan. He has worked with ensembles such as the BBC Symphony Orchestra, Philharmonia Orchestra, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, Sinfonieorchester Basel, Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Saarbrücken, London Sinfonietta, Birmingham Contemporary Music Group, Britten Sinfonia and the Nash Ensemble.

    In October 2012, Causton took up the newly-created post of Lecturer in Composition at the University of Cambridge. He is currently a House Composer at English National Opera and is also working on a new orchestral piece.

  • Shortlisted 2015
    Category Small chamber
    Work Piano Quintet

    About this work

    This piece is made up of two sections of roughly equal duration. In the first of these, the ensemble is divided up in to two groups: the violins and viola play as a trio (major triads in rhythmic unison), whilst the violoncello and piano work together as a duo. Although the metronome marking is the same for both groups, the barring differs and they do not interact. It should be noted that the cello-piano duo enters a crotchet after the violins and viola. Rehearsal letters are only given at points where bar lines coincide for both groups.

    The second section begins at rehearsal letter H (bar 177). At this point the ensemble plays as a quintet with the same barring for all players. The bar numbering from here to the end follows the violins and viola and therefore the cello and piano parts do not have any bars numbered between 90 and 177. Richard Causton

    Commissioned by The BBC for the 50th Anniversary of the Nash Ensemble, Piano Quintet received its premiere performance by the Nash Ensemble on 18th March 2015 at Wigmore Hall, London


 Listen to an extract of this work:
 Piano Quintet